

NOMINATIONS ARE INVITED

for the prestigious

BAILLET LATOUR HEALTH PRIZE

of

€ 250,000

(Two hundred and fifty thousand Euros)

Theme for 2020: Metabolic Disorders

Previous recipient in that field: Bruce M. SPIEGELMAN, USA

Recipient 2019 (Cardiovascular Diseases): Catherine BOILEAU, France

This personal award is granted every year for outstanding achievements in biomedical research for the benefit of human health. It was established to recognize scientific merit and to stimulate scientific research and intellectual creativity. The Prize is open to scientists of all nationalities who have not received an equivalent Prize for their personal use. Exceptionally, the Prize may be shared by two scientists who have collaborated closely over a long period. The laureate will be selected by an international Selection Panel in February 2020.

The themes for the following years will be: Infectious Diseases (2021), Neurological Diseases (2022), Cancer (2023), Cardiovascular Diseases (2024). For more information (including Regulations and Nomination Form) go to www.fondsbailletlatour.com.

Deadline for nominations: September 30, 2019



BAILLET LATOUR HEALTH PRIZE 2020

"METABOLIC DISORDERS"

REGULATIONS

1. THE "BAILLET LATOUR HEALTH PRIZE"

This personal award is granted every year for outstanding achievements in biomedical research for the benefit of human health. It was established to recognize scientific merit and to stimulate scientific research and intellectual creativity. Exceptionally, the Prize may be shared by two scientists who have collaborated closely over a long period. The current value of the Prize is € 250,000 (two hundred and fifty thousand Euros).

2. THEMES

The theme for 2020 is **"Metabolic Disorders"**. The themes for the next four years will be "Infectious Diseases", "Neurological Diseases", "Cancer", "Cardiovascular Diseases".

3. NOMINATIONS

The Prize is open to scientists of any nationality who have not previously received an equivalent or higher Prize for their personal use. Candidates may not apply themselves, but must be nominated by a person who is duly qualified to assess their work, using the form provided at www.fondsbailletlatour.com. The nomination file for the 2020 Prize must be sent electronically to prix@frs-fnrs.be no later than September 30, 2019 (this is a strict deadline). Incomplete files will be rejected outright.

4. SELECTION PANEL

This Panel, appointed by the Baillet Latour Scientific Committee for Medical Research, consists of seven non-Belgian scientists who are experts in the field of research chosen as theme of the Prize. The Scientific Committee selects one member of the Panel to act as Chairperson. Panel members may not nominate candidates. The composition of the Panel and the name of the laureate remain confidential until the award ceremony.

5. ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

The Scientific Committee is entitled to settle any questions related to the admissibility of nominations. The awarding of the Prize is final, without appeal. Nominations and reports relating to the awarding of the Prize may not be revealed.

19.2.2019